When I woke up in a strange room, the only thing I could focus on was the unpleasant feeling of the sharp splinters in my body from the beat up, dusty, wooden floor. I could hear the arragant little mice, crawling across the floor, but I couldn’t see them due to the fact that the room was darker than the Grinche’s soul on Christmas Day. At one point, the squeaky door opened, and I instantly smelt a smell of relief and hope as my mom came downstairs, and she told me to get out of the basement.

One thought on “Vignette: Waking up in a strange room

  1. This is very well written! You target multiple senses and choose appropriate adjectives. The only criticism I have is that I’m genuinely curious to know what relief smells like through more description. I love the Grinch reference and how you use it. I’m very happy with this. Great work!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *